Half-time pep-talk

I love a good word I do.

Sometimes a quiet word, a little word, a crossword, word-of-mouth, a strongly worded letter, the humble bread and butter of the word-smiths – word-nerds – word warriors of the brave new word. I went too far. Best of all I think for a the end of a long week and more significantly, tip-toeing up to the half way point of the year; is the wise word. 

Somebody was forward thinking (read concerned) enough last Christmas to give me enough wise words to last me the entire year. And this came in the form of a ‘Wise Women’ quotations kind of calendar thing. NB: It is also a magnet.

Classically there was some sidestepping of jibes about lipgloss and handbags, and outright fibs about how doing everything in high-heels makes you in all ways, super slick and brilliant. (Unless occupation is ‘professional drinks spiller’ or maybe ‘robot malfunction impersonator’ then safe to say these women and I will just have to agree to disagree.) 

But there were some gemstones in the rubble and I’ve been putting them aside for such a time as this – as mentioned, at the mid point in the year and for me at least, the close of a long tour and a window of opportunity to take stock – and maybe even take some advice… with a pinch of salt. 

Here goes:

Thursday Feb 13th

“I feel very confident. It takes a long time to get to that place. Your twenties are terribly confusing and really scary… I’m really enjoying being in my thirties.” – Kate Winslet

This was the first quote I tore off and kept… for a rainy day I suppose. Sure enough when the rain-water dribbles miserably down the windows, I do look out with a glimmer of hope that in two short years time when I hit thirty, I will be as fabulous as Kate. Or at least it does remind me that I need to book in that eyebrow wax. 

Tuesday 11th March

“We, as women in particular -and this is such an important message- starting today, we all have to be supportive of each other. You can’t be jealous, and push, and trip. …Its hard enough.” – Michelle Obama

Spot on Mrs O. If we are lucky enough to have freedom of speech – then lets not waste it on tearing each other down. 

Thursday 17th April

“Fashion can be bought. Style one must possess.” – Edna Woolman Chase

I know, I know. But sometimes – like when I’m hungover, red-faced and forty minutes late for my meeting – I think it would be simpler if I could just buy it.

Friday 18th April

To handle yourself, use your head; to handle others, use your heart.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

Loads more bits of wisdom from Eleanor Roosevelt is being tweeted daily for our appreciation – follow here: https://twitter.com/ERPapers

Saturday 19th April

I’m tough, I’m ambitious, and I know exactly what I want. It that makes me a bitch, okay.” – Madonna

This takes me way back to my early teens and the battered and stretched VHS tape I had of Madonna’s ‘Truth or Dare’ movie which is incredible viewing from start to finish with plenty more wisdom, brute courage and Italian-American gusto from seemingly the only woman who looked good in the eighties. Here’s a small clip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ArjuE9kYQyM I’ve had a check and there seems to be plenty of places to watch the whole thing online if you choose to. I think I’m going to get me a shiny new DVD copy. 

Monday 28th April

Love has nothing to do with what you are expecting to get, only with what you are expecting to give, which is everything.” – Katharine Hepburn

I would imagine the original source comes with a footnote to advise that this doesn’t include the following:
– opinions on partners outfits
– opinions on Pink Floyd
– flu.

Thursday 1st May

Beauty can’t amuse you, but brainwork- reading, writing, thinking- can.” – Helen Gurley Brown

I like the idea of this one – but I’m not sure I agree. I like looking at beautiful things. Beauty in itself is no bad thing but a word it just gets a hard time, thats all. Time to stop working the double-shift Beauty – you’re more than just a pretty face. 

Tuesday 6th May

If you feel like theres something out there that you’re supposed to be doing, if you have a passion for it, then stop wishing and just do it.” – Wanda Sykes

#iamtrying

Monday 19th May

A woman without a man is like a fish without a bicycle.” – Gloria Steinem

A lovely old chestnut. 

Wednesday 21st May

Don’t live down to expectations. Go out there and do something remarkable.” – Wendy Wasserstein

…but if you want to sit at home and watch telly then thats OK too. Sometimes the hardest task of the day the switching off and the stopping the working. In actual fact, somedays I’m sure the sitting down and watching telly might be the most ‘remarkable’ thing I’ve done that day – if thats what mind and body (or long-suffering boyfriend) have needed.

Monday 2nd June

“I‘ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” – Maya Angelou

I can’t remember the entire set lists or the jokes of my favourite gigs i’ve been to – but I always remember how they’ve made me feel. Its one of my favourite things about music – I’m glad Maya Angelou reckons it can apply it to life as a whole. 

Tuesday 3rd June

If you retain nothing else, always remember the most important rule of beauty, which is: who cares?” – Tina Fey

For more meaningful uplifting fun, substitute [beauty] for things like [being a singer-songwriter] , [Ryan Air] , [miso soup] or even [name of ex-partner] 


Thursday 12th July

The trouble with the rat race is that even if you win, you’re still a rat.” – Lily Tomlin

Gosh. I used to sit opposite a girl in my A-level English class who I secretly thought was distinctively rat-esq. If only I had known. We are all rats – maybe she will one day be our queen? Somebody call David Icke. 

Saturday 21st June

I don’t want to live. I want to love first, then live incidentally.” – Zelda Fitzgerald

The Beatles and Jesus would agree for sure. However, even if that alligator did make an obscene hand gesture at your wife – it is best to ignore the above. 

Leave a Reply

