in the spotlight… my pal Craig

My wonderful and inspirational friend Craig took this as part of his ‘Breaking The Square’ project. As someone who has been something of a serial post-cropper and a post black-and-white-er I admire Craig’s mission to set the limits from the get-go. Craig says: 

“I’ve decided that I needed to understand this format and have set myself a task: I will shoot square frames instead of post-cropping so I can’t rethink the composition outside of the moment, I will shoot them in black and white to allow myself to focus on form, and I will deliberately avoid seeking out subjects because they suit the format. The goal is to search in the way I would normally but to try to make sense of my finds in this new format.”

see more and read the whole story here: http://breakingthesquare.tumblr.com/about

Leave a Reply

